Mercenary Proofreader Joins the Human Legion.

Announcement: Thomas Weaver has joined up with the Human Legion — specifically the Sleeping Legion part — to do editor-type stuff for them. They needed someone with expert training in how to wield a Red Pen of Doom (DOOM, I tell you!), and I’m the person who answered the help wanted ad… 🙂

“So, Weaver… does you joining up with the Human Legion mean you’re, y’know, human?”

I don’t have to answer that question; the Sleeping Legion’s developmental editor said so. Well, actually he told me that he didn’t think it would be a problem if I weren’t. However, according to a recent blog post by one of the Legion’s authors, a genetically enhanced human still counts as human. So yeah, I guess I am.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mercenary Proofreader Joins the Human Legion.

  1. M. Oniker says:

    Forget human, do they know you are :::duh duh dun::: American? Do they know you have made some, um, erm, pointed comments about UK grammar, or lack thereof? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s (usually) not the grammar that gets me; it’s the lack of punctuation. I’m not worried that they’ll find out how I feel about “comma-phobia,” if that’s what you mean.

      Besides, I make A LOT of pointed comments about bad grammar (and punctuation) from American writers, too. Everyone knows I’m not biased that way.

      It’s not that there are any actual “rules” of writing that are different in UK English; it’s that schools in the UK gave up on teaching the mechanics of writing before the ones here in the US did, so they’ve had a little bit longer to forget how to do it right. That doesn’t mean doing it right is wrong by their standards. Also, I’ve already copyedited a short story for the guy who writes the Sleeping Legion novels, so we know we can work together.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. J.R. Handley says:

    Um,…. I’m already hiding under my desk in the fetal position! DOOM!! DOOM he says!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

