A Call for Beta Readers

We’ll be needing beta readers soon.

Yes, that’s right: beta readers, plural. We’ve decided it’s not fair to LR to make him shoulder the responsibility alone. Also, we want to know how readers unfamiliar with the author’s other works will react to this story.

But wait! Before you volunteer, you should know a thing or two about this novel… and about the amount of work involved in beta reading: Project Brimstone is contemporary science fiction and runs about 70K words, so reading won’t take too long. However, I have a list of about forty questions I need beta readers to answer, such as, ‘Are there any parts you think should be condensed or deleted?’ and, ‘Could you relate to the main character?’ Volunteers to beta read must be willing to answer these questions.

Here’s the (unofficial) blurb:

Major John Michael Harrison, US SOCOM, discovers a dark secret: an invasion from another Earth, a world like yet unlike his own. An Earth where resources are so scarce that its people are willing to raid other worlds to attain them, releasing enhanced bioweapons with no remorse for the people who die.

Thus starts a war like none before. A war between worlds, between universes. Two USAs waging war against each other through a series of raids and counter-raids.

Major Harrison is at the tip of the spear point taskforce assigned to stop the war at all costs. Harrison volunteers to take a nuclear weapon deep into the heart of the enemy’s defenses and end the war once and for all.

Harrison escapes the blast, and there his odyssey begins.

If you’re interested in beta reading Project Brimstone, leave a comment here or contact me via email.

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Call for Beta Readers

  1. I am not a proofreader by any stretch of the imagination. I am however a reader. If I fall into the list I would be happy to help as a Beta, if not, that is okay too. From the blurb, it sounds exciting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. J.R. Handley says:

    Sure, sign me up! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. J.R. Handley says:

    Reblogged this on J.R. Handley Blog and commented:
    Part of my editing team is looking for beta readers, if you’re interested you should check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rick Ewald says:

    I’ll read it. I’ve read for other authors mostly for continuity, clarity and tech details.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rmcalzada says:

    I would love to have the chance to be your beta reader, Thomas!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I normally read romance. Paranormal, Sci-Fi, whatever. I don’t think I’m what you’re looking for in this project.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s okay. I’d rather someone says, “Sorry, but I’m not into this genre,” instead of volunteer to beta read and then complain about the entire book because it isn’t the sort of story they enjoy.

      Like

  7. If you’ve volunteered to beta read Project Brimstone, I need your email address so I can send you a PDF (also readable on Kindle, in case you’re wondering) of the novel. Email me: thomasweaver (at) zoho (dot) com.

    Like

  8. Reblogged this on Michael Seidel, writer and commented:
    Thomas Weaver is seeking beta readers. Contact him if you’re interested.

    Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

