Adventures in Editing Adventure-y Stuff

Gun fights! Explosions! Snarky comments about crickets!

I have now edited seventy-seven pages out of one hundred sixty-four in Project Brimstone, so I think I can take a short break.

Then again, I’m having such fun editing it, so why stop now?

It’s not all combat and snark. Sometimes there is serious introspection. Or thoughts about beer and fishing. I mean in the manuscript, of course. There’s no thinking about beer in editing — not the way I do it. Thoughts of hard cider will happen, though. I blame one of secondary characters.

“Where are my beta readers?” exclaims Weaver. “I need beta readers!”

*crickets*

That’s okay, I guess. Due to a bionic implant to repair his ear, the protagonist of this novel can hear crickets doing… private cricket stuff. Or so he said once. He may have been joking.

I’m now at the part of the story that’s the immediate aftermath to an incomplete short story I’ve been unable (even with professional help!) to flesh out into something longer. So, yeah, there’s a small plot spoiler for one person I hope will volunteer to beta read: Corey-the-human has already “met” one of the secondary characters in Project Brimstone. It feels kinda odd, editing dialogue for one of my people when I didn’t write that dialogue myself, but I do trust my clone to take good care of these figments of my imagination… Except that time he called Brennen a brony. *shakes head* Brennen isn’t in this story, by the way. Just in case you were hoping for more from those weirdos.

“So which weirdos are in this story, Weaver?” I’m not telling. You’ll have to read it and find out. Mwahahahaha…!

Um… A bit past one in the morning now. Maybe I should take a real break from editing and come back to it tomorrow — real tomorrow, I mean, after I’ve slept. But I’m just starting the Really Good Part… (Sure, I’m biased. See above comments about one of my people being a secondary character introduced in the current chapter.) Maybe I’ll keep going until I get to the part with the storm…

…And you kids probably thought editing is all boring stuff like fixing comma splices and rearranging word order in dialogue tags. 🙂

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Adventures in Editing Adventure-y Stuff

  1. Sounds like military fiction?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. ziresta says:

    “It feels kinda odd, editing dialogue for one of my people when I didn’t write that dialogue myself, but I do trust my clone to take good care of these figments of my imagination… ”

    My wife has written stuff using my characters before and it is so strange feeling to edit their dialogue, because it’s like “These people live in my head; how do you know them so well?”

    And then there are the times she comes up with better dialogue for them than I would have . . .

    Liked by 3 people

  3. curioushart says:

    I am not a professional editor; I’m not even an English teacher, else I would be happy to be a beta reader. It would be a way to express my appreciation for what I have learned from your blog.

    On Tue, Feb 7, 2017 at 12:25 AM, North of Andover wrote:

    > Thomas Weaver posted: “Gun fights! Explosions! Snarky comments about > crickets! I have now edited seventy-seven pages out of one hundred > sixty-four in Project Brimstone, so I think I can take a short break. Then > again, I’m having such fun editing it, so why stop now? It’s not” >

    Liked by 3 people

    • The only “qualifications” to be a beta reader: 1) Enjoy reading books in the genre to which the book belongs. (In this case, it’s science fiction.) 2) Be willing to tell the author your opinion about the book, including what you liked and what you didn’t like about it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What kind of time table are you looking at for beta responses?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. If you’ve volunteered to beta read Project Brimstone, I need your email address so I can send you a PDF (also readable on Kindle, in case you’re wondering) of the novel. Email me: thomasweaver (at) zoho (dot) com.

    Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

