Writing Glitch #311

Today’s glitch:

glitch344

To say usual everyday is more than a bit redundant, isn’t it?

All the verbs are in past tense except says. Fix that by changing it to said.

If you say the stranger looks like a younger version of himself, you’re saying the stranger looks like a younger version of the stranger, which is nonsense. Change himself to him. Then get rid of the comma after him.

He was out on his daily walk when someone who looked like a younger version of him materialized in front of him and said, “Dad, thank god I found you.”

(No, it is not incorrect to leave god uncapitalized. Is this character religious and actually thanking his deity, or is he just using a common expression from his culture even though he’s not a believer? I’m fairly sure the writer isn’t a theist, or they’d have made certain to capitalize god — theists are rather touchy about that, which is why telegraphs had to be typed in all caps.)

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Writing Glitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing Glitch #311

  1. J.R. Handley says:

    Another informative post, thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. M. Oniker says:

    Wait. Wut? What’s this about telegraphs?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I KNEW someone would ask about that…

      Y’see, when telegraphs were first invented, they could be typed up in all capital letters OR all lowercase letters, and someone, somewhere, declared that, given these as the only options, telegraphs MUST be typed in all caps so that ‘the name of God could be written correctly’ or some such nonsense, because it would be a sin to write it uncapitalized. *shakes head*

      I have no idea where I picked up this particular bit of trivia, except that it was from something on television in the early-to-mid 1980s in which the history of the telegraph was mentioned.

      Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

