Any requests for “Writing Glitch” topics?

I know some of you get bored with the same writing mechanics issues covered over and over again in these posts… I know I get tired of ’em. On the other hand, I glean the examples from things I find online (Dear Pinterest, I have plenty of glitches in my collection now. You can stop showing me examples of bad grammar and worse punctuation. So please STOP. Sincerely, Weaver), and the same issues wouldn’t continue to come up if I didn’t keep seeing them over and over again. Clearly, there are a lot of writers don’t know about commas in compound sentences. 🙂 (*narrowly avoids joking about bad punctuation habits possibly being a genetically inherited trait*)

On the other hand, I tend to cover only as much of each issue as is relevant specifically to that day’s glitch. That means I’ll tell you that a sentence needs a colon instead of a semicolon, but I may not go into the details of why, nor of how to determine which of those punctuation marks is appropriate in some other sentence.

Are there any specific topics you’d like to see covered in a supplementary “Writing Glitch” post? Some aspect of grammar, punctuation, etc., on which you want more information? Please let me know in a comment here.

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing Glitches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Any requests for “Writing Glitch” topics?

  1. I wouldn’t mind if you went over the why in each case. But that’s just me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Michael Seidel, writer and commented:
    If you have a writing glitch, or have an issue and haven’t found a decent answer, reach out to Thomas Weaver.

    Like

  3. curioushart says:

    Everything you have used for the glitches has been very helpful. I would also like to see some involving dialogue punctuations, if they come your way. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. J.R. Handley says:

    What about one on spacing? I was taught two spaces between sentences but now I’m told it’s one? What happened and why?

    Like

    • It is now incorrect to double-space between sentences, but for the life of me, I cannot understand why some people totally lose their cool over double spaces between sentences (it changes NOTHING about the meaning of the sentences themselves) but don’t mind at all if writers choose, for example, not to separate out a direct address with a comma or insist on ending a statement of curiosity with question mark.

      I don’t know why the change was made to single spacing, and the only reason I’ve ever seen/heard was something along the lines of ‘It saves paper.’ (*rolls eyes*) We no longer use fonts where every letter or punctuation mark uses exactly the same amount of space in a line of text, and most books have both margins justified anyway, so who could tell whether there was one space or two between sentences?

      At any rate, it’s a fairly easy thing these days for a proofreader to correct: all they have to do is find-and-replace all the double spaces with single spaces.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. M. Oniker says:

    I’ve mentioned I play along as a game. I enjoy how and what you’ve been doing. Hyphenation is an ongoing annoyance for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

