Updates: editing and writing

I received word yesterday that a sci-fi novel I’ll be copyediting is now in the hands of the developmental editor, so I should be getting the manuscript sometime in the middle of next month. That will give me time for another round of editing/proofreading on Project Brimstone before then.

The Chicago Manual of Style, a red pen, and a half-gallon coffee mug... Yep, I'm ready to start editing now.

The Chicago Manual of Style, a red pen, and a half-gallon coffee mug… Yep, I’m ready to start editing now.

I’ve had the song “Wish You Were Here” stuck in my head since last Friday. Mostly it sounds like Rasputina’s version, except sometimes the voice is different. *shrug* I’ve associated this song with Geoffrey Meeks, a character who seems determined (I know he’d say it’s not his fault, and sometimes he’d even be right) to show up in every series of stories my clone and I write, ever since I first learned that he’d be transferred from his original setting to the one in which Hrothgar Tebrey resides. It’s likely, though, that the current song-stuck-in-my-head situation means I should be working on “that novel.”

First priority, of course, is that short story about one of the secondary characters in Project Brimstone. Argh! Still having trouble with it. Should talk to the clone about it (and show him the comments from Corey-the-human, who kindly offered some suggestions), now that he’s done with science for a few weeks and can focus on science fiction again. My trouble is that I can’t figure out how to expand the story without losing the narrative voice as it currently is. Maybe if I keep re-reading it, something will happen…

The clone is anxious to hear back from the beta readers. (I’m not trying to hurry you, folks. You’ve still got to the end of the month.) He specifically mentioned wanting to know what “the military guys” have to say about Project Brimstone, since it’s more-or-less military sci-fi. We also have one beta reader who’s read one of Paul’s other novels, and I’m looking forward to reading her reactions to Brimstone. (Yeah, there’s a little bit of Mwahahahaha! in anticipation. Finally, someone other than LR whose brains will explode…! Several somebodies, if we’re lucky.)

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Updates: editing and writing

  1. J.R. Handley says:

    I’ll be sending you a short story in the universe to edit as well! 20k? Meh, you could do that before tea time!! Wait, when do clones drink tea? Would it be motor oil time? No, that’s for cyborgs. Hmm, what do clones drink?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. M. Oniker says:

    😐

    Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

