Authors Answer 122 – Should You Write Every Day?

I Read Encyclopedias for Fun

This month, we return to regular questions and answers, but we have a theme for the month. We’re looking at common advice that may be considered either bad or good advice. We’re starting off with how often we should write.

320px-Modern-ftn-pen-cursiveQuestion 122 – Write every day. Do you agree or disagree, and why?

Tracey Lynn Tobin

Although I might possibly be the worst person in the world at actually adhering to this advice, I do actually agree. In order to be a writer, you have to write, and write a lot, so the best way of accomplishing that is to write something – anything – every day. In that way it becomes a habit, something that you do automatically. Additionally, if you’re writing daily – even if it’s not anything that goes toward your current WIP – you’re getting lots of practice in, and that is never a bad thing…

View original post 1,156 more words

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Authors Answer 122 – Should You Write Every Day?

  1. My comment on the original post:

    Anyone who says, “I write better when I write every day,” is probably right. Anyone who says, “Everyone writes better when they write every day,” is wrong. I think whether or not writing every day is the best approach depends on the individual. (I tried writing every day, and what I wrote then was crap.)

    There are other reasons why “Write every day!” is not the best advice.
    https://northofandover.wordpress.com/2016/06/23/sometimes-he-blogs-about-the-classism-of-write-every-day/

    (I write something for my blog nearly every day, but I don’t count that. I’m not a blogger; I’m an editor and fiction writer who happens to have a blog. Besides, if practice is ever going to make perfect, it needs to be practice in what one is trying to perfect. Blogging isn’t practice in fiction writing.)

    Like

  2. I agree, in principle, but there are days when you’d be better off just reading or going for a long bike ride and thinking through your next chapter.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

