The Blogger Recognition Award

I never do these things the right way…

The Excited Writer (without italics because I’m referring to the blogger instead of to her blog 🙂 ) nominated me for a blog award, and I’d like to thank her for that.

Steve D. from Red String PaperCuts nominated me for this award, too, because I was so slow with this post that he didn’t know I already had one. Much thanks to Steve, too, for thinking of North of Andover when making his list of nominees.

 

 

Now I’m supposed to answer a couple of questions and then nominate fifteen other bloggers for the award…

That’s where things get awkward.

A lot of the bloggers I know don’t want to be nominated for awards. Many (if not most) of the ones who don’t mind have already received the awards in question. This makes the list of possible nominees quite short, even assuming I could figure out who’s who.

I’m not a blogger. I’m a fiction writer (and editor) who also happens to blog. It’s a difference in emphasis, mostly, but there is a difference.

Why I started a blog (the tl;dr version):

I started this blog because my clone-sibling (twin brother) is also a fiction writer, and I wanted a way to help promote his/our stories once we started publishing them. The scope of North of Andover has grown considerably since then, and these days I mostly blog either about the mechanics of writing or about my own creative process, but that’s its “origin story.”

Two pieces of advice to new writers (bloggers or otherwise):

Read a lot of whatever sort of writing you want to do. If blogging is your primary thing, read a lot of blogs, and examine what about them works for you as a reader and what doesn’t work. If short fiction is your thing, read a lot of short fiction. If you want to write novels, read novels. You don’t learn how to fly a Cessna by getting really good at riding a motorcycle.

Don’t assume every piece of writing advice you encounter applies to your writing, or even that it’s valid advice for anyone. As you gain experience, you’ll learn to recognize what’s good advice and what isn’t. “Leave out all this tech stuff” is probably good advice for someone writing a romance — assuming the romance isn’t between adorable geeks who meet over a debate about the merits of various CGI programs — but not good advice for someone writing a techno-thriller in which the plot itself hangs on “this tech stuff.”

 

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Mei-Mei says:

    Ooh, that second piece of advice is very well said.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

