Writing Glitch #367

Today’s glitch:

glitch55

Change the comma after city to a period. (The first two sentences were spliced together with a comma.)

Add a space between the words nothing and left. (Don’t get so hung up on punctuation errors that you miss simple typos.)

Delete the comma after left. (Not every use of but, and, etc., requires a comma before it.)

Spell out numbers instead of using numerals: six, not 6. (This is fiction, not journalism; rules specific to the AP Stylebook don’t apply here.)

Notice that the last sentence has been rewritten. The people don’t make up six city blocks of anything; they just live in a settlement that fills that space. Also, I deleted survivor from the last sentence because it was already established in the previous one that these were the survivors.

It was once a flourishing major city. Now there is nothing left but the empty, decaying ruins. A few small groups from the old city survived. These people live in the settlement that fills roughly six city blocks.

(WordPress’ spell checker doesn’t like Stylebook written as one word. Neither do I, actually, but that is the official way it’s spelled in this instance, so it’s correct anyway. *shrug*)

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing Glitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

