Short story is FINISHED, and other writing stuff

The revisions still need to be read and approved by the coauthor, but I think I’m finally finished with that short story I’ve been struggling with — the one that’s a tie-in of sorts for Project Brimstone. We’ll probably offer it as a freebie.

Yesterday, in what started out as fragmented conversation (complete with a matched set of anxiety attacks) about writer’s block, my clone and I ended up discussing plot lines for the next Tebrey novel. Something was said about the ancient station discovered above the gas giant in Cedeforthy’s system; something was said about finding bodies there. Oh, joy — more difficulties for the good guys. Just what every writer wants in a plot. And no, that’s not sarcasm. You know how I love dramatic irony…

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Short story is FINISHED, and other writing stuff

  1. Congratulations. Always great to finish something and then begin conceptualizing, envisioning and plotting another. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This story SHOULD have been easy. I knew everything that happened in it; I just had to write it down in a way that other people would want to read. The biggest trouble for me, I think, is that I’d originally written it as a fragment rather than a complete story, and I’d “fallen in love with the underpainting,” so I was hesitant to cover that up with a more detailed picture — I mean, story. (I have a degree in art and was an art teacher for a short while. To me, metaphors derived from painting/drawing/sculpture seem a natural way to describe some aspects of writing.) I didn’t want to lose the narrative voice from the fragment. Still not sure I managed to double the word count and flesh out the story while also (telling the calculated lies of fiction… um, sorry, that’s someone else’s quote, but it’s your fault — you started it with your Amber-esque short story and your song of the day that reminded me of the ‘Looking Glass Bar’ scene in the beginning of Sign of Chaos) maintaining a narrative style appropriate for a first-person story through the eyes of that character. AND making sure he didn’t end up sounding like one of the characters from “that novel.”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. J.R. Handley says:

    Congrats on finish the story!

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

