We have cover art for the short story, too.

No, you’re not imagining things. That is my name on the cover of a book, even though I said more than once that it would never happen.

The really surprising thing is that I’m still not having an anxiety attack about it. Weird…

I could explain the most likely reason why I’m okay with my name listed as co-author on this story in particular (and, now that I think about it, maybe the reason I’m procrastinating on The Grumpy, Grouchy Old Man’s Guide to Grammar is that I can’t make my brother take credit for that one; everybody knows I’m the grammar ninja in the family), but that would probably be a bit of a plot spoiler or something.

There’s a very minor detail in “Solitude” that’s autobiographical (mine, not my brother’s). And the setting for the latter half of the story was repurposed — with major changes — from a story I wrote when I was seventeen. That one got published, too. (Three stories in a single issue of a magazine. Too bad I didn’t know yet about Harrison Denmark and Galaxy magazine, or I’d have come up with a pen name to use on two of those stories. *sigh*) As Paul says elsewhere, a much shorter version of this short story was the seed for Project Brimstone. You don’t need to read “Solitude” to understand what’s happening in Project Brimstone, but why not read it anyway, since we’ll be offering it as a freebie? The short story will be offered early to people who sign up for Paul’s author newsletter, and for everyone else it will be available on Smashwords starting on May 1.

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to We have cover art for the short story, too.

  1. I like that cover. Reminds me of the television series I just finished watching, “Fortitude”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck with sales, Insane Cat Gentleman.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. M. Oniker says:

    Looking forward to the short story. Congrats on your moniker on the cover and not freaking out about it. Gadzooks, is there no end to your clone’s talents? He designed the covers, too? I did not know that.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

