Sometimes, he has updates about novels-in-progress.

The reason yesterday’s “Writing Glitch” post was so late is that I didn’t have access to the computer until evening; my clone was using it to work on the next (fourth) Tebrey novel.

Just thought you’d want to know that. ūüôā

Found out yesterday that the Inciting Incident for everything (as in, the motivation for one of the main characters when Paul and I first started this collaborative story-creating nonsense) did not happen for the reason we thought it had. (Let this be a lesson to you: do not allow yourself to become a minor character in one of our stories. Well, except you, Greg, but you brought it on yourself when you decided to write the Spence Brothers into Greyspace.) The official reason for that event makes a great cover for what was really going on, though. This change came about because of a backstory revision for one of the supporting characters in the Tebrey novels. As soon as the “assassin” became someone too important to be ordered around, we needed a different motivation for that character to go kill someone. Well… we found it. Eep!

I know: I’m blathering about stuff you don’t understand entirely because I’m not giving sufficient information. Wish I could… The point of all this is that I’m excited that my clone is already making significant progress on his next novel — and that I’m quite looking forward to all the trouble the events of this novel will cause for the various characters in it. I can say so right now because I have enough mental distance from the story that I’m not reeling from the conversation in chapter two. “Ask me again tomorrow who I am today,” as a poet once said, and maybe I will be “the ashen phoenix,” since Paul has said a few times recently that he wants to finish that novel we’re working on together as soon as Stars’ End (*wonders if he should tell his twin about another story with a similar title, and if he really wants to risk revisiting the metaphor that caused so much trouble last year*) is published, hopefully sometime this autumn.

Don’t know what my clone intends to call the fifth Tebrey novel. (Of course there will be five books in that arc. Who are we, that we should break with tradition?) Then there’s the sequel to Project Brimstone, and “that novel,” and Changing Magic (which ought to be published before “that novel,” all things considered), and an apparent stand-alone with the super-exciting working title of “Max’s story.” Plus, maybe, at least one Providence novel. (If Paul rewrites and publishes those, you’ll recognize one of the main characters as a very minor character in Project Brimstone: Harrison’s friend Delling. Paul goes back and forth on whether or not he should ever publish these stories. Something about bears and money… I said, “It’s not poking the bear; it’s doing that Cameron thing, which is helping the bear.” And, as someone said in a book about a tour of a fictional castle, if the book is bad, we can always feed it to the manticore, right? *weird grin*)

Paul said something the other day about bringing Matthew into the story. Matthew —¬† Dr. Matthew Luther Channing, if I recall correctly — is a physicist, just the sort of person who could fit in well with those weirdos in the Project Brimstone sequels. Plot complications and dramatic irony — fun times. (That sounds ever-so-slightly like, “Chaos — good news,” doesn’t it? I didn’t do that deliberately, I swear.)

Anyway. About ten thousand words written so far for Stars’ End, which isn’t bad for two or three days’ work.

(WordPress’ spelling checker wants me to change manticore to manicure. It also wants me to change arc to ark. I really need to publish at least the homophone section of GGOMGG as soon as possible. What do you think of calling that chapter “Give the Devil His ‘Do”?)

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sometimes, he has updates about novels-in-progress.

  1. J.R. Handley says:

    Pretty soon you two will be rolling in that JK money!! When you strike it big, don’t forget the little guys!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Adam says:

    The story behind the story is quite a tale in and of itself.
    Sounds like you have an excess of riches when it comes to ideas.
    I think this is one of the reasons I often idly think “Wouldn’t it be great to just freeze time and catch up on writing?” Of course then I realize I might never go finish.
    Hope it’s going well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s going quite well. The hard part is keeping from saying too much about it here on my blog. “I know a fun bit of dramatic irony and characters trying to kill each other and stuff — let me tell you all about it!” Yeah, not a good idea… ūüė¶

      Liked by 1 person

      • Adam says:

        Mmm. I’ve definitely known that temptation. In my younger years I would sometimes have these great ideas, and foolishly I’d rush to find someone to share them with verbally, and by the time I was done talking my creative energy was spent.
        Now my general practice is to talk to others as little as possible while writing, to keep that energy bottled up.

        Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

