5 Great Creative Writing Tips (Which I Never Follow)

A Writer's Path

by Daniella Levy

I am very much a self-taught writer. I had to be; my formal English language education more or less ended in fourth grade when I immigrated to Israel. I learned mostly from reading, writing, and getting feedback from my friends. The only writing book I read during my adolescence was Strunk and White’s The Elements of Style.

In recent years, however, I decided to see what I could learn from outside resources. So I took a few online creative writing classes through FutureLearn and Coursera, and read Anne Lammott’s Bird by Bird and Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way. I started reading essays passed around on social media about writing, and watched TED talks about writing and creativity, etc. etc. etc.

View original post 1,540 more words

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5 Great Creative Writing Tips (Which I Never Follow)

  1. M. Oniker says:

    Thanks for reblogging this. I have stopped following some bloggers that I used to follow constantly, because they changed from having original posts, on a myriad of subjects, to very few original posts and now almost all of their posts are retreads. I rarely, if ever, followed the reblogs on those sites. Rightly or wrongly their selections felt gratuitous. They weren’t doing it because of quality or something unique. You rarely reblog, except for the “Authors Answer” thing, which is entirely different from serial reblogging. Since you rarely reblog I end up nearly always clicking on the original, and I am rarely disappointed. Just sayin.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, it could be argued that my “Writing Glitch” posts aren’t actually original, since I’m just not-silently correcting someone else’s grammar… 🙂

      I don’t like blogs that are mostly just reblogs, either, especially since most of them seem to lack discretion when it comes to what they reblog. “5 Ways Writers Can Maintain a Social Life Without Talking to Anyone” might be interesting/relevant to followers of a blog that’s supposedly all about writing and reading, but “I Had Pasta With Spinach for Lunch — Here Are Some Photos,”… not so much.

      Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

