Weird humor… and even MORE weird humor.

Back in late autumn, after a meeting of the local chapter of the Society for Creative Anachronism, one of Grace’s friends said something about the difficulty of driving a car while wearing Renaissance-style clothing. “How did they manage it?” her friend joked.

Grace did not make a joke of her own in reply, although she told me later that she was sorely tempted: “I don’t know, but I’ll be sure to ask the next time I get the chance.”

That reminded me of something I and an acquaintance with similar tastes in fiction joked about back during my “misspent youth” as a LARPer. The final punchline was, “And you believed him?” Because I was in a strange mood when I typed this post, I’ll even tell you the rest of the joke.

This is how it went:

I was discussing fantasy novels (the way one does) with a small group of people at a LARP (live-action roleplaying — think ‘sort of like cosplay, but with sword fights’) event. After once again having to threaten an idjit with a thorough trouncing if he didn’t shut the hell up about John Gregory Betancourt’s ugly little novels (Google it if you want to know — add the word Amber for clarification) and how everyone who liked the real thing must surely love the totally-against-the-original-author’s-wishes fan-fiction abominations, too (“Don’t hold back, Weaver — tell us how you really feel.”), the topic of crazed fans came up. (Normally, maybe we’d say reality-impaired instead of crazed, but that would sound like a bad pun in context.)

“Have you heard about the Chronicles of Amber fans who claim Roger Zelazny didn’t make up those stories, that he just wrote down what Corwin told him?” I said. Why should I be the only one whose brain had been severely wobbled by teh stoopidnesses?

Graham and Doug and the Colonel laughed.

“Yeah. Crazy, right? ‘Cause Corwin told me he never even met Roger.”

“And you believed him?” said Graham, not missing a beat.

“Yeah, I see your point.” When the laughter died down again, I added, “Actually, the topic has never come up.” I have a weird sense of humor, but I do recognize the necessity of letting other people know that I’m joking. (Apparently I have quite a talent for saying the most ridiculous things while sounding perfectly serious. Corwin says it’s one of my less endearing traits…)

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weird humor… and even MORE weird humor.

  1. Ha, ha, I called Ransom and read him your post. He claims to have met you, too, and that you owe him money. If you want, you can send it to me, and I’ll pass it on to him.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. M. Oniker says:

    I laughed.
    Apparently I also have a dry delivery, and that confuses a lot of people. I’m also pretty gullible, and if someone comes at me with that kind of delivery, well… it can be pretty amusing. Sort of.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

