a bonus “writing glitch” of sorts

This isn’t an official “Writing Glitch” post, but I saw something online that I just had to share with you so you, too, could have a WTF??? reaction to it.

I am not here to remedy anyone’s botanical ignorance… but nevertheless, I must inform you that there is no such thing as a rohan tree.

The word the writer of this example wanted (and would have known, had they bothered to look it up) is rowan.

*sigh* This is why we can’t have nice things…

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Writing Glitches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to a bonus “writing glitch” of sorts

  1. Maybe there were watching a little too much Middle Earth?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Y’know what’s funny? The first place I ever encountered mention of rowan trees was in The Lord of the Rings; there’s an Ent named Quickbeam who says to the Hobbits that he’s especially fond of rowan trees. So no one who’s read those books can say they’ve never heard of rowans, even if they don’t remember.

      I suspect the person who wrote “rohan tree” instead of “rowan tree” is familiar with Tolkien’s work only through the movie adaptations.

      Liked by 1 person

      • *looks both way* I never read past the Hobbit. Hated the book. DH bought the movies when they were released and I reluctantly agreed to watch them with him. Having never read the books and not really knowing anything about them (I hadn’t read almost any fantasy up until DH and I met), I was *SO* angry at the end of the first movie when they still had the ring. I had expected the ring to be in the volcano after six hours. They’d blown up the Death Star is less than two. Took a long time before DH could get me to watch the next two movies 🙂

        Like

        • There’s nothing wrong with not liking a book or movie or anything else. For example, I don’t like Firefly. *waits to see if fellow geeks start grabbing torches and pitchforks* I won’t even try A Game of Thrones, even though it’s on nearly every SF/F geek’s “MUST read/watch” list. Some of my favorite novels are ones most people have never heard of (that’s NOT why I like them — I’m not some sort of SF-themed hipster, and I’d love to have more people to discuss my favorite books with), but I don’t expect others to read them or think less of those who haven’t.

          (I read The Hobbit when I was eight years old. I’m sure that has something to do with why I love it… I risked the wrath of Bea, my “pseudo-mom,” to read that book: she was in the middle of one of her “sci-fi and fantasy are satanic!” phases and would have beaten me senseless if she’d found out I checked out a fantasy novel from the school library… We value the things we have to fight for, right?)

          Like

  2. “Why we can’t have nice things.”

    Lol! 😂. That’s one of my favorite phrases, and I use it liberally, especially in situations like this 😉💓

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m thinking of using that phrase as the title for the sequel to my (as yet unfinished) book, The Grumpy, Grouchy Old Man’s Guide to Grammar. Either that or a chapter title in GGOMGG itself.

      Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

