Bits and pieces: May 22

It shouldn’t bother me, but it does… I don’t like anyone shortening my name. I’m Thomas, not Tom (and gods help you if you call me Tommy to my face). If that’s too hard to remember, just call me Weaver instead (the way all my imaginary friends do 🙂 ).

Somehow, I’ve been identified as an autism blogger, even though I have only four posts with autism as one of the tags. (Quite a few of my posts do have snarky asides about “Teh Experts,” who think I’m incapable of being sarcastic, using metaphor, recognizing or even feeling emotions, etc., because I’m autistic.) The first thing that popped into my head when I found out (through a comment on this blog) was, “Thomas Weaver, Defender of Words and Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom, helping neurotypicals communicate better in writing since 1996.” (That’s inaccurate: At least one of the authors whose fiction I edit is autistic. And a damn good writer, which ought to be enough to make a point of some kind.) I’m not good at talking specifically about my experiences as an autistic individual. For one thing, I often feel like I’m “doing it wrong” because I don’t fit a lot of the stereotypes/generalizations (or even the “required” traits). Maybe I’ll make more effort, though, now that I know my audience has expanded in that direction.

My clone has started a new job… Not in archaeology, but he’s doing GIS mapping for the local electric co-op. (Yes, he has already made use of the expected “I make maps” movie quote. I hope he doesn’t want me to give back the Meteor Crater t-shirt I stole from him years ago, ’cause it’s not gonna happen.) The pay is better than he’d get for CRM work, and he gets to be indoors at least part of the time. (There are few jobs for archaeologists here in the United States right now, partly because the current batch of idjits running the government are very anti-science, etc. The CRM companies don’t want to hire new people, because they don’t know if the Antiquities Act will even exist by later this year, so there may not be any need for people who do archaeological survey work, for example.) Fear not, though: the clone having a full-time “day job” won’t prevent him from working on his next novel. All that driving around through rural Roosevelt County will give him plenty of time to “write” first drafts in his head, and then he’ll come home and type thousands of words in a single sitting (the way he usually does). 

 

 

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bits and pieces: May 22

  1. I get some of my best ideas while alone in the car. Congrats to him on the new job.

    I don’t like my name shortened, either. It’s Elizabeth. Not Liz. And heavens help you if you call me Lizzy.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. M. Oniker says:

    For some reason people have never added a very common -ie to the end of my name. Thank the heavens! Some people are Tommy and Katey and Suzy and Pip, and some are not and never will be.

    I knew you are autistic only because of the few times you have mentioned Teh Experts, and I’ve been reading your blog a long time. If you hadn’t alluded to it, I never would have guessed. You’re just being you, and like all of us, that carries a myriad of labels.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

