Writing Glitch #426

Today’s glitch:

Change the comma after horizon to a period.

Either add a comma after ruins or add that before it.

I don’t like the latter part of the last sentence; devastation obvious and as powerful just doesn’t sound right. I can’t think of better words at the moment, though. (If I was editing this in someone’s manuscript, I’d ask the author for clarification/elaboration.)

They scanned the horizon. So many crudely made crosses rose up between the ruins that it was pointless to count them all. Whatever happened here had happened long ago, but the devastation was obvious and as powerful as ever.

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Writing Glitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

