Writing Glitch #439

Today’s glitch:

Sometimes, the error is all about using the wrong word.

Google definition of fastidious, and this is what you’ll get: 1. very attentive to and concerned with accuracy and detail. 2. very concerned with matters of cleanliness. Synonyms: scrupulous, fussy, critical, nitpicking…

Doesn’t sound like the sort of thing Heart (a cartoon personification of the fun-and-feelings aspect of personality) would say about its preferences concerning the world and why it likes fantasy better, does it? If anything, you’d expect Brain (the logic-and-routine aspect) to have fastidious tastes, a demand for order and tidiness… which isn’t what you get in a fantasy world, last time I checked.

If you keep a pet thesaurus, you should also have a dictionary to help it learn good behavior. 🙂 A synonym is a word with a similar meaning, not the same meaning (that would be a homonym, and English has few of those), so you need to make sure you know the precise definitions and pick which word out of a thesaurus list actually means what you intend it to mean.

 

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Writing Glitches and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

