Sometimes, he’s just happy to take a break from editing.

More than one hundred thirty thousand words in eight days… My brain hurts.

I’ve finished the first round of copyediting on this novel, though, and sent my comments to the author so we can figure out solutions to a few (fairly minor) issues that can’t be dealt with simply by changing punctuation or rearranging word order. Once I get a reply, I’ll begin the second round… 

My clone says I shouldn’t do this again. Rush to finish an editing job in a ridiculously short time, I mean. Y’see, I had a bit (okay, more than just a bit) of a meltdown a couple of days ago, and it was the second one in about a week. I don’t think it was caused by the work I was doing, but being that busy (and perhaps exceeding my “decision quota” and such) for several days in a row meant I didn’t have a chance to recover from sensory overload caused by other things. Plus, the weather has been terrible around here, and I never do well when there’s a lot of change in air pressure. (*considers explaining exactly why changing air pressure causes severe anxiety as well as pain, but thinks better of it and says nothing*)

So that means the next time I tackle a manuscript, it’ll take me at least a month instead of two weeks. Apparently most professional copyeditors say it takes three months or more to edit a 100K-word manuscript, and some say it takes as long as six months. On the other hand, most professional copyeditors probably have lives and stuff. Me, I’m not even a real person; I’m just a figment of your imagination. (Well, not yours, O Dark and Sarcastic One, but we’ve discussed that already, have we not?)

In the interest of not “scaring the normals,” I’ll end this post here… Nevertheless, consider this your early warning: after the editing is completely finished, there will almost certainly be some weirdness in my next few posts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sometimes, he’s just happy to take a break from editing.

  1. Changes in air pressure triggers migraines for me. Doctor never said why, just that it’s not uncommon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s a type of migraine that is caused by pressure on the ophthalmic nerve (the nerve that runs from the eyeball to the brain). My twin used to get these A LOT, back when we lived in Kentucky. Sort of like a severe sinus headache, but starting with the eyes instead.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. Dealing with a manuscript of that size myself – with material I know – I become numbed and exhausted with the process. I can’t imagine the extremes of what you accomplished. Two weeks! Geez. You’re a better person than me, Gunga Din.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, it is just copyediting, so I’m not responsible for any of the “big picture” stuff like making sure the plot hangs together well. Mostly what I do is correct punctuation and grammar or occasionally rearrange word order to make a sentence flow better.

      When I know the material — when I’m editing one of my clone’s novels — I can do it even faster. On the other hand, he makes sure to warn me if there’s a torture scene or whatnot, so it doesn’t catch me by surprise. *shakes head* Wasn’t as bad as it could have been, though. I’ve experienced worse in real life. The scene that bothered me more than that one wouldn’t even be perceived as bad, at worst a minor annoyance, by most readers… Come to think of it, that could have been partly what triggered the second meltdown. I mean, I did once scream like a terrified five-year-old after seeing a mere photo of a hyperbaric chamber… (Did I just say that out loud? I guess I did. *shrug* I think I’m still “chattery” in response to being around too many people for too long: I talk incessantly so I don’t have to hear other people think. And no, that’s neither a metaphor nor a joke.)

      Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

