The “explanation” mark…

I just read a blog post on why not to use exclamation marks in fiction. The thing is, that blogger called it an explanation mark over and over again (ten times), so it’s not a typo — this idjit thinks that’s the real name of this thing: ! Yes, really. An explanation mark. *facepalm*

This time, I’m gonna name names, or give credit where credit probably isn’t/won’t be wanted, or something; if you want to see the post that caused my current grammar-ninja outrage, go here. [Update: Apparently some kind soul pointed out to the “expert” the error of his ways, and the link no longer works. Nevertheless…]

Actual quote from the post: “If what you’re describing needs an explanation mark attached to the end, then your not doing a good job describing it.

*sigh* This is why we can’t have nice things…

 

About Thomas Weaver

I’m a writer and editor who got into professional editing almost by accident years ago when a friend from university needed someone to copyedit his screenplay about giant stompy robots (mecha). Having discovered that I greatly enjoy this kind of work, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use ever since as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom. I'm physically disabled, and for the past several years, I’ve lived with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have six cats. (The preferred term is "Insane Cat Gentleman.") I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The “explanation” mark…

  1. M. Oniker says:

    Here ya go. This link still works. http://www.writegoodbooks.com/why-are-you-shouting-at-me/ And, sadly, you’re correct that it isn’t a typo. I went there hoping maybe it was sloppy spell checker snafus. Nope. There’s even a graphic with “explanation mark” included. I dunno, I kind of like it.
    Sometimes malapropisms work.

    Like

  2. That. Is. Hysterical (explanation mark) 😂😂😂

    Like

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

