Writing Glitch #547

Today’s glitch:

Em-dashes are used to indicate an abrupt break or change in direction within the sentence. There’s no such abruptness here. Replace the dashes with commas.

“There are locations all around the world that, to put it simply, we are not allowed to know about.”

 

About Thomas Weaver

For several years, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom (editor). I'm physically disabled, and I currently live with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have several cats. I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Writing Glitches. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing Glitch #547

  1. danaethinks says:

    I’ve linked this page to my latest blog post as a suggested place to practice grammar and punctuation. (I wasn’t sure how else to link together. My computer skills are stuck a couple of decades back.) If you don’t want the link, let me know and I will remove it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Low-Budget Writing Program: Part 6 Grammar and Punctuation and Bears! Oh, My! – Danae Wulfe thinks…

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.