Think about this, folks…

Not to mention how using the word in such a way diminishes the original, real meaning, turning it into a mere synonym for ‘person who has strong views I don’t agree with.’

About Thomas Weaver

For several years, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom (editor). I'm physically disabled, and I currently live with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have several cats. I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Think about this, folks…

  1. I’ve been guilty of this, and it’s because I didn’t think about the word’s origins and the actions behind it. I just adopted and used, basically parroting others. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • To be honest, this bloggish rant stems mostly from getting tired of people calling me names of any sort for believing in clear and coherent writing — sometimes even though they ASKED me for advice. (The fiction quote that comes to mind at such times is, “Don’t call me names for being what you’ve paid me to be.”) I wish there were common slang terms for ‘person who knows a lot about the mechanics of writing’ that weren’t intended as insults…

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: The Halves Don’t Have It – Michael Seidel, writer

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.