They Can Dance If They Want To…

If you think one of the best things about the 80s song “Safety Dance” is the medieval clothing worn by everyone in the video…

If you’ve already watched literally every funny cat/dog/bird video online, and now you don’t know what to watch next to keep your spirits up while social-distancing…

If you think people who do historical re-creation have no sense of humor, but you’re willing to be proven wrong…

…you need to watch these videos.

Start with this one. (I’m not affiliated with anyone in the Kingdom of Caid. Don’t even know anyone there. According to my clone-sibling and his lady wife, we’re in the Kingdom of the Outlands. *shrug*) 

Y’see, it went like this: Someone in the Society for Creative Anachronism decided to issue a dance challenge to all the “kingdoms” in the Society, and the populace responded… with compiled videos of people dancing while dressed in historical clothing (some even in armor). These videos are both uplifting and funny, even if you’re not into historical re-creation yourself.

Atenveldt even did their dance video to… “Safety Dance.” Not the original version, but still cool. (Atenveldt is our neighbor to the west.)

Note: My clone-sibling is not in the video from the Kingdom of the Outlands (“Grendels don’t dance,” he’d insist),… but that’s not to say he’d never be convinced to participate if this “interkingdom dance challenge” thing came around again later. 🙂

About Thomas Weaver

For several years, I’ve been putting my uncanny knack for grammar and punctuation, along with an eclectic mental collection of facts, to good use as a Wielder of the Red Pen of Doom (editor). I'm physically disabled, and I currently live with my smugly good-looking twin Paul, who writes military science fiction and refuses to talk about his military service because he can’t. Sometimes Paul and I collaborate on stories, and sometimes I just edit whatever he writes. It's worked out rather well so far. My list of non-writing-related jobs from the past includes librarian, art model, high school teacher, science lab gofer… Although I have no spouse or offspring to tell you about, I do have several cats. I currently spend my time blogging, reading, editing, and fending off cats who like my desk better than my twin’s.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to They Can Dance If They Want To…

  1. That was fun. I’m partial to the Time Warp, but all were entertaining.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't hold back -- tell me what you really think.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.